Latest News

Ohio House Elections Candidate Overview

Vote | Illustrated by Kayli Thompson | The Wright State Guardian

According to Ballotpedia, there are 37 total candidates running in this year’s Ohio House elections; out of this group, “voters will elect 15 candidates to serve in the U.S. House, one from each of the state’s 15 U.S. House districts.”

In District 1, Steve Chabot (R) looks to continue in office as the incumbent, against Greg Landsman (D).

In District 2, incumbent Brad Wenstrup (R) runs against Samantha Meadows (D).

The District 3 race sees Joyce Beatty (D) as the incumbent against Lee Stanley (R) and independent candidate Alexander Amicucci. Amicucci is a write-in candidate as well. 

In District 4, incumbent Jim Jordan (R) faces off against Columbus entrepreneur Tamie Wilson (D).

Bob Latta (R) is the incumbent for District 5 and is running against Craig Swartz (D).

District 6 sees incumbent Bill Johnson (R) versus Lou Lyras (D). 

In District 7, there are four candidates facing off against each other, two of which are independents who were also written into the ballot. 

District 8 features another republican incumbent in Warren Davidson. Davidson faces off against Vanessa Enoch (D), who was born in Cincinnati, Ohio.

District 9 will be won between Marcy Kaptur (D), who is the incumbent candidate, and J.R. Majewski (R).

In District 10, Mike Turner (R) is the incumbent candidate once again and is running against Democratic candidate David Esrati. Turner has served as the District 10 representative since 2013. According to Turner’s biography, the rep is a “lifelong resident of Southwest Ohio.”

Esrati (D) ran for election to the Ohio District 10 rep seat back in 2012, and is a Wright State University graduate (88’) who hails from Celina, Ohio. Esrati served in the Army for six years. 

In District 11, it is incumbent Shontel Brown (D) against Eric Brewer (R). Brown was elected to the office in 2021 and is looking to continue in the role as District 11 rep.

In District 12, Troy Balderson (R) takes on Amy Rippel-Elton (D). Balderson is the incumbent candidate.

Emilia Sykes (D) faces off against Madison Gesiotto Gilbert (R) for District 13. Sykes currently represents Ohio House District 34.

District 14 features a race between incumbent David Joyce (R) and Matt Kilboy (D). 

District 15 includes incumbent Mike Carey (R) taking on Gary Josephson (D).

Again, all of this information is according to Ballotpedia; the website is also “tracking 37 districts (8.5%) as battleground races.” This number applies to all of the house elections across the country, not just in Ohio.

Finally, Ballotpedia reports that “Democrats hold a 220-212 majority in the U.S. House.”

Trey Brown

News Editor

Verified by MonsterInsights