Latest News

SIL hosts its 35th Annual Student Leadership Awards

Photograph: Soham Parikh/The Guardian

Wright State University campus | Photo by Soham Parikh | The Wright State Guardian

Wright State University’s Student Involvement and Leadership (SIL) held its 35th Annual Student Leadership Awards on Apr. 9 through Webex in celebration of the leaders across campus.

Students and organizations were nominated for several awards in different categories. The categories included Student Organization Awards, Individual Awards, and Senior Leader Awards.

Student Organization Awards

For their collaborative efforts with organizations around campus, Black Men on the Move was the winner of the Collaboration award.

In raising money to fund cancer research, outreach and education programs, Relay for Life won the Community Service Award.

With their efforts in making sure anyone and everyone on campus can participate, Fencing Club won the Diversity and Inclusion Award.

For their work creating Raiderthon, which has raised $58,000 for the Children’s Miracle Network, the Student Organization Program of the Year Award went to the Miracle Makers.

With their work improving their local community and parts of the world, Student Organization of the Year Award went to Engineers Without Boarders.

Individual Awards

Destinee Beisemeyer won Student Supporter of the Year Award.

Jeff Fleck, Club Bowling Advisor and Coach, was awarded Advisor of the Year Award.

Lauren MacGregor was awarded Distinguished Graduate Student Leader Award.

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award was given to multiple students. The winners were Ben Hollinger, Makenzie Hoeferlin, Jacob O’Connor, Sydney McGilton, Dylan Collison, Natalie Cunningham, Roxanne Roessner, Dylan Hall, Lauren Harris, and Hunter McCubbins.

Natalie Cunningham was awarded the Distinguished Emerging Leader Award.

Established Student Leader Award

Numerous students were recipients of the Established Student Leader Award. The winners were Jacob Jones, Sabrina D’Alesandro, Allison Harbaum, Logan Rex, Cody Pack, Dai’shanae Moore, Dorian Buford, Leah Dryden, Jeffrey Shehee and Sean McGraw

Sabrina D’Alesandro was awarded the Distinguished Established Student Leader Award

Advanced Leader Awards

The Advanced Student Leader Award was given to 10 students. The winners were Nathan Price, Kara Combs, Reilly Corbett, Alexis Hobbs, Shaddia Qasem, Riley Plotner, Kearstyn Bowen, Aaron Brautigam, Samantha Baxter and Sydney Gower.

Aaron Brautigam was awarded the Distinguished Advanced Student Leader Award.

Senior Leader Awards

The Senior Leader Award was awarded to 10 students. The winners included Milo Simpson, Sarah Cavender, Petey Sanchez, B. Lenz, Austin Rex, Beth Metcalf, Tyler Willis, Markayla Clayton, Kendra Thibaut and Bentley Peed.

The winner of the Distinguished Senior Leader Award was Sarah Cavender.

Miss the ceremony? You can watch it on Student Involvement and Leadership’s Facebook.

Shaddia Qasem

Former Wright Life Editor

Verified by MonsterInsights